Birthday Envelope Book Sample

March 19, 2008 at 3:55 pm (Birthday Project)

In order to give you a better idea of what this project involves, here is a sample envelope and insert.

I have rather gone to town with decorating it – you don’t need to go quite so mad!

I started by taking my envelope and using distress inks and glimmer mists to take away the whiteness.

I then took a sheet of new Basic Grey Sultry 6×6 paper (which arrived this morning!) and used them to cover the front (in 2 in strips)

Envelope Front

New Front(this is the revised front  – I didn’t like the dragonfly and so I added an address plate, some flowers and a bow!)

The Envelope flap is covered in another piece of paper – just attached with DST.  I inserted a piece of card into the envelope (having first done a bit of inking and stamping) just to cover that gap.

 Envelope Back

The insert is just  a piece of card with inks and stamps – it could be further decorated or just left blank ready for a message.

Insert 1Insert 2

If you have any more questions, send me a message!

20 Comments

  1. kathy_S said,

    Goodness that was quick.

    Thanks Simon

  2. jeanc said,

    Thanks for this Simon….much as I anticipated…I had a look round the internet! Where would we put the holes for the rings?

    I am having to go to several hospital appts atm and on 3rd April I am booked in for an endoscopy/colonscopy…will let you know if i can do something to help ..luv jeanc xx

  3. Linda said,

    Mega quick………………..now I know what were supposed to do!

  4. She said,

    Lovely Simon. Well done. 🙂

  5. Witch said,

    Very pretty Simon. Looking fwd to having a go too.

  6. Chrystine said,

    Hi Simon. Yes – I’d also like to know where the holes would need to be. Also could you tell me why they are called ‘Birthday Books’? Cheers XXX

  7. csf2008 said,

    They are called Birthday Books because we are making them to celebrate the birthday of the forum (17th April is when we turn 2!)

    The holes will be placed by the team leader and will depend on how they choose to bind it – but they will be along one of the edges – which is why the insert is smaller – so it can still be removed!

  8. tigra girl said,

    that’s really pretty Simon.

  9. Joy said,

    Thats lovely Simon

  10. classylady60 said,

    That’s lovely Simon, glad you showed us that sort of thing you want. It’s a great idea and I really hope, when completed they raise a lot of money for the charity.

    Chrissie

  11. Gillian (Loopy Lou) said,

    Thanks so much Simon for making one to give us a proper idea of what we need to do.
    (Oh and by the way, your example is just lovely)

  12. Lydia said,

    Thanks for that…Loving yours! 🙂

  13. squeak said,

    Thank you Simon I had no Idea what I had to do,your example is beautiful and very much appreciated

  14. shazzapat said,

    great example Simon- look forward to making mine
    x

  15. Angie said,

    Thank you for the sample Simon, it’s lovely and now I know what I’m suppose to do

  16. bambideer said,

    great work simon 🙂 love the colours

  17. Jane said,

    Wow wow I am a newbie to CSF but I am off to sign up to this Birthday swap

    Ooops nearly forgot to say ‘good job’ Simon 🙂

  18. craftyc said,

    Its beautiful Simon!!
    Clairexx

  19. Ajay said,

    Its fab. Well done Simon

  20. Chrystine said,

    Lovely, Uncle Simon, would it matter if we accidently get pawprints on the envelopes – could we put it down to artistic licence? Luv and licks – Bobbi X

Leave a Reply

